Parker’s Journey

At the beginning of the year, I blogged about wanting to send care packages to those that were recovering from head injuries. As a person that is still recovering, I understand the challenges that are faced and how important it is to have a support system. While I still share that sentiment, it has since expanded. This week, a former colleague (we attended university together) created a group and posted a video that left me in tears. For the past few years, she has posted several status and videos as her younger brother, Parker has been literally overcoming the odds. After suffering from a spinal cord injury, the chances of him walking again were slim to none. Over the past three years I have had the privilege of seeing images of Parker’s progress. And this past week, as he graduated from high school, many of his peers were not aware of how much of a recovery he made. As you can imagine, I was touched and when Parker’s sister, Jessica created an event for graduation cards to be sent to him, I was immediately elated. I knew I wanted to send a card (and a few other items) and get the blogging world involved. My wonderful, encouraging readers, you have filled my comment sections with the most beautiful words during very challenging hours and it would mean everything if you would take a few moments to read Parker’s story or view the video and leave a message to him in the comments. I will then include them in the card I send. Also,  if you know someone that is experiencing any of the above, you can email me their information so a package can be sent to them. Thank you

http://www.littlethings.com/graduation-walks-across-stage

2 thoughts on “Parker’s Journey

A Penny for Your Thoughts

