And all that Jazz: An Ode to friendship

In an attempt to reconnect with my past
or jog some sort of memory
I’ve taken to reading correspondences
from those once near and dear to me-
colorful interactions
now fractured beyond repair
Words…
that can never be unseen
sentiments once expressed
that’ve now been broken
Realizing…
that everyone and everything is changing around me
and not necessarily for the better
Where has time gone?
It seems we’re entering round 2
and I’ve no choice but to gear up
What will the outcome be?
It’s fair to say-some things
some people you thought you knew
you realize you’ve never known at all
In a world filled with frigidity
I’m clearly out of my league
And as painful as the truth seems
I guess I never meant much to you at all
Feeling shattered but never broken
I thought we were what dreams are made of
destined to be friends forever
and now…
all that is left
is this ode to you

7 thoughts on “And all that Jazz: An Ode to friendship

  1. One thing I feel must be certain is that your way with words is among those things that has not and will not change for the worse. You truly have a gift, Lana.

    Next time we meet, we must discuss favorite poets. The saga of common interest discovery continues!

    Sending love to you, friend, and to all the other lovely inhabitants of your place! – J.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One thing I feel must be certain is that your way with words is one thing among those that have not and will not change for the worse. You certainly have a gift!

    When we next meet, let’s talk favorite poets, shall we? 🙂

    Love to you, friend!
    -J

    Liked by 1 person

A Penny for Your Thoughts

